It Is Beginning to look like a Kitchen!

After almost 2 weeks of stripping, sanding and painting I am happy to say my kitchen is ” almost” done. I am beginning to believe it will never be done. There will always be some little thing that needs finishing like the trim around the top edge of the paneling and the floor. You know the finishing touches that take the job from good to great.

 

 

Image

This is the corner that got the most work and the biggest makeover and I could not be happier. The new lighting is warm as well as very handsome. The light that comes through the window now is amazing. Not having all that stuff hanging around is almost freeing.

Image

The lower corner cabinet is a lazy susan that took Bill 11 hours to build. There was no lazy susan in the cabinets we got so Bill cut and fitted doors together and used the existing cabinet to make a new susan.

Image

 

This is were a lot of stripping sanding and painting happened. I have to thank the guys at my local Sherwin Williams, they were a big help in figuring out how I was going to make my dark dark cabinet bases match the golden oak doors. I have to tell you I was so afraid when that paint first went on but as you see it is not a bad match at all.

 

Image

 

This window was another spot that took what seemed like forever to get stripped and sanded. Painting went a little quicker. I am here to say red high gloss paint is not easy to remove. My rack for hanging my pots and pans needs to be put back up and I need to go get curtains other then that I think it is looking pretty good.

 

 

 

Image

 

All in painted and at long last you can see the counter top. The air vent needs a cover and that will wrap up this side of the room as well. So there you have it is beginning to look like a kitchen. 

 I am going to leave you with a couple more photos.I thought you would like to see my view when I am working at my kitchen sink. Pardon the spotty windows I need to go outside and clean them, and yes that is my Christmas tree still sitting on my back porch.

Image

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

2 thoughts on “It Is Beginning to look like a Kitchen!

Leave a comment